Posted by admin on March - 30 - 2009 Comments Off on BULLDOG RALLY 2009

A new season for the British Rally Championships sees the Bulldog International Rally Of  Wales play host to the opening round with classics stages in the Dyfnant and Dyfi areas of Wales. Although the BRC seems to be lacking in entrants this year (so far), the BHRC boosted the numbers giving the event a full entry list of 180 strong. If the Internationals or even National runners in the more modern machines weren’t really your thing, then this superb Historic’s entry most certainly would have got you buzzing.

The weather was typical Welsh rallying conditions, in that it was so interchangeable, the morning started off with rain, hail and sleet, but towards the afternoon the day seem to clear up with the odd bust of sunshine. Big crowds flocked to the stages and were treated to some classic action and plenty of moments from all runners in the field.

Keith Cronin & Greg Shinnors took the international win in their EVO 9, closely followed by the Impreza of Mark Higgins & Bryan Thomas with Stuart Jones & Andy Bull taking the final International podium spot. On the Historic’s front, class wins for competitors such as David Higgins &  Nick Elliott who were both out in Ford Escorts, while the Irish contingent of Michael O’Brien in the Focus WRC took the overall clubmans award on the national front.

Overall an absolutely cracking event run by the Wolverhampton & South Staffs MC’s, a superb entry list and some classic stages provided a great event to open the 2009 BRC & BHRC season.

Categories: RALLY

Comments are closed.